To get your Real Estate License in California, you must follow a procedure directed by the California Bureau of Real Estate which requires applicants to meet both general and academic requirements.
1. Eligibility for Getting Your Real Estate License in California
Age: Must be 18 years of age or older to be licensed.
Residence: Must be a legal resident of the United States. If not in California, there are special circumstances for out-of-state applicants to apply for a California real estate license.
Experience: None required.
Honesty: Must be honest and truthful. Conviction of a crime may result in the denial of a Real Estate License in California.
In addition to general requirements, applicants for real estate license in California must successfully complete the following college-level courses.
Having successfully completed the 45-hours courses of:
- Real Estate Principles
- Real Estate Practice
Having successfully completed any one of the following 45-hours courses of:
- Real Estate Appraisal
- Property Management
- Real Estate Finance
- Real Estate Economics
- Legal Aspects of Real Estate
- Real Estate Office Administration
- General Accounting
- Business Law
- Mortgage Loan Brokering and Lending
- Computer Applications in Real Estate
- Common Interest Developments
2. Cost of Getting Your Real Estate License in California
Completion of these three 45-hour courses qualifies you to sit for the state licensing exam. A non-refundable fee of $60 is required to take the salesperson’s examination and $95 for the broker’s examination.
3. Obtaining Your Real Estate License in California
After you pass the examination you may apply for your real estate license in California. The license fee for a salesperson’s license is $245 plus $56 for fingerprint processing, makes a total of $301. The fee for the broker’s license is $300 plus $56 for fingerprint processing, makes a total of $356.The license fee is valid for two years.