Colorado is a broker-only state. The Colorado Real Estate Commission has the following requirements for anyone looking to obtain a real estate license in the state of Colorado.
1. Eligibility for Getting Your Real Estate License in Colorado
Age: Must be 18 years of age or older to be licensed.
Character: Applicants must provide proof of honesty, truthfulness and good moral character through a state and national background check. An applicant must also submit fingerprints for investigation purposes along with a fee of $39.50 to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation.
In order to become an Associate Broker, the applicant must successfully complete 168-hour pre-licensing real estate education organized in the following way:
- 48 Hours in Real Estate Law and Practice,
- 48 Hours in Colorado Contracts and Regulations
- 8 Hours in Trust Accounts and Record Keeping
- 8 Hours in Current Legal, Issues
- 24 Hours in Real Estate Closings
- 32 Hours in Practical Applications
- Pass entire broker exam
2. Cost of Taking the Real Estate Exam in Colorado
The examination fee for taking the real estate exam in Colorado is $85.
3. Taking the Real Estate Exam in Colorado
Completion of above mentioned 168-hour courses qualifies an applicant to sit for the state licensing exam. The Colorado Department of Real Estate employs PSI, a company that handles the Colorado Real Estate Exam. Applicants must register with PSI. Call them at (800) 733-9267 or visit their website, www.candidate.psiexams.com.
Applicants will need to pass the 154-question exam on two portions: national and state. Applicants must answer 60 of the national questions correctly and 53 of the state questions correctly.
4. Obtaining Real Estate License in Colorado
Within one year of passing the licensing exam, applicants may submit their application at PSI for getting their Real Estate License in Colorado.